Oregon CHL Law
DMV Change of Address
Oregon Vital Statistics-birth,marriage, divorce
1. How do I apply for a concealed handgun license?
Applications are available:
- Tillamook County Sheriff's Office, at 5995 Long Prairie Rd, Tillamook
- By calling (503) 842-2561 to request an application by mail
- Online using this link:
this application is for new applicants, renewals, transfers, and change of address
Your first step in this process is to meet the handgun competency requirement, see Frequently Asked Question #2 below. Next, review the disqualifications listed Question #3 below. Finally, call and make an appointment to bring your completed application to the Concealed Handgun License Unit.
Scheduled appointments are required for all new applicants. You must pay your license fee at your scheduled appointment.
Please do not send payment with your application. Payment must be in the form of a check, money order, or cash only.
2. How do I satisfy the competency requirement?
Please do not apply until you have met the competency requirement in one of the following ways:
Complete a handgun safety class taught by an NRA certified instructor. Certification or card issued must be presented at the time of your scheduled appointment. Contact local gun dealers for class referrals.
- Completion of any law enforcement firearms safety offered for security guards or other law enforcement officers. Certification must be presented at your scheduled appointment.
- Obtain a copy of your DD214 if it indicates you are competent with a handgun, sidearm or pistol. If your DD214 does not indicate competency, we will be unable to accept this as proof of your competency, even if used while in the Armed Forces.
3. What will disqualify me from obtaining a concealed handgun license?
Oregon law prohibits the issuance of a concealed handgun license to anyone convicted of a felony or convicted of a misdemeanor within the last four years, or anyone that is the respondent of a current restraining order or stalking order.
Federal law prohibits anyone convicted of a domestic violence-related crime, misdemeanor or felony, from possessing a firearm. Also prohibited is anyone with more than one drug-related conviction and registered sex offenders.
If you feel you are eligible for a license, please submit appropriate documentation to include dates and explanation of circumstances, including court orders surrounding your circumstances for further consideration. Include this information with your application.
You are also ineligible for a concealed handgun license if you are not a U.S. citizen, unless you are a legal resident alien. You must be able to document continuous residency in the country for at least six months, and you must have declared in writing to the United States Citizenship and Immigration Services the intent to acquire citizenship. You must be able to provide proof of the written declaration.
4. Where can I take a class to meet the requirements for a Concealed Handgun License?
Contact your local gun dealer and let them know you are interested in obtaining a handgun safety course for a concealed handgun license.
5. How much does a concealed handgun license cost?
New license - $65.00
(Valid for four years from the date of issue)
Renewal license within Tillamook County - $50.00
(Valid for four years from the date of issue)
Address change or replacement within Tillamook County- $15.00
(Expiration date is the same as the original)
6. How long is my concealed handgun license valid?
Your concealed handgun license is valid for four years from date of issue. However, an arrest or involvement in criminal activity is cause for revocation.
7. What are the hours of operation for the Sheriff's Office?
For new or transfer licenses by appointment only, renewals, and address changes,
the CHL unit is open Monday through Friday from 9:00 a.m. to Noon & 1:00 p.m. to
4:00 p.m. Please call ahead to schedule your appointment (503) 842-2561.
License holders wishing to get a replacement card or address change may drop in
during business hours. We
open during the lunch hour.
8. Do I send money with my application?
No. Please bring a personal check made payable to Tillamook County Sheriff, a money order, or cash to your appointment. Payments must be made in the Criminal Records office prior to your appointment. You will receive a receipt for your payment which. This payment is non-refundable.
9. When should I arrive?
Please arrive 15 minutes prior to your appointment.
DO NOT BRING CHILDREN WITH YOU. You will be going into a secure area away from the Lobby.
Children are not allowed to enter this area or be left unattended in the Lobby.
10. My handgun license is going to expire within the next few months, will I get a reminder letter?
No, Reminder letters are not sent out. It is your responsibility to make sure your license is current and valid when you carry a concealed handgun.
11. If I change my address do I need to contact anyone?
Yes. You are required to come to the Sheriff's Office and complete a change of address form. The change of address fee is $15.
12. Where is your office located?
The Tillamook County Sheriff's Office is located at 5995 Long Prairie Rd (South of Tillamook).
13. How do I transfer my concealed handgun license from another county into Tillamook County?
Call the Sheriff's Office during business hours to make an appointment to
transfer your license to Tillamook County. You must meet one of the residency
requirements list under Question #16.
At that time, we will check your concealed handgun license and Oregon
driver's license, take your picture, and fingerprint you. Plan to spend about 30
minutes to be processed.
14. Even with a concealed handgun license, where can I not carry a firearm?
Oregon law provides very few limits on where a person with a Concealed Handgun License (CHL) can carry a firearm, and federal laws contain a few more prohibitions. Even if you have a Concealed Handgun License, you cannot carry a firearm on any of the following properties:
If you violate these conditions you could, under certain circumstances, be subject to arrest under Oregon trespass laws, in which case your concealed handgun license would be seized and/or revoked. Learn more, read ORS 166.370.
- Federal facilities - federal courthouses, social security offices, in secured areas of airports, and on airplanes
- National forests marked or posted by signs prohibiting all firearms
- Indian reservations or Indian property - you may not carry a firearm concealed without the written permission of the tribal judge; this may also apply to certain casinos on Indian lands
- Courts - in a courtroom, jury room, judge's chambers or adjacent areas that the presiding judge determines should be free of firearms to ensure the safety of the litigants, court personnel, witnesses and others
- Private property where the owner prohibits firearms possession
No person may bring a firearm or weapon into that portion of this building occupied by the Oregon State Courts, except for a peace officer or federal officer on official duty. Violating these provisions may result in your arrest for a Class C felony, and could also result in your being found in contempt of court. ORS 166.370 and Uniform Trial Court Rule 6.180.
No person may bring a firearm, weapon or other contraband into the secured perimeter of any County Jail, and all visitors to the jail must go through a security screening and metal detector. Knowingly introducing contraband into a correctional facility is a Class C felony. ORS 162.185.
All persons entering these premises may be subject to audio or visual surveillance.
15. How will I find out if my application was denied or my concealed handgun license was revoked?
If we deny your application or revoke your license, we will send you a certified letter stating the reason(s).
16. How do I meet the residency requirement to apply for an Oregon license issued by Tillamook County?
You may apply for a Tillamook County-issued Oregon concealed handgun license by meeting the residency requirements as stated in ORS 166.291(9):
Possess a Current Oregon driver’s license showing a residence in the county.
- Be registered to vote in Tillamook County and have a precinct memorandum card showing a residence address in the county.
- Provide documentation that you currently own or lease real property in the county.
- Provide documentation that you filed an Oregon tax return for the most recent tax year with a residence address in the county.
17. Can I apply for an Oregon license issued by Tillamook County if I live in another state?
Oregon law states that a sheriff may waive the residency requirement for a
resident of a contiguous state that has a compelling business interest or other
legitimate demonstrated need. At this time the Tillamook County Sheriff
has chosen not to issue to out of State applicants.
18. Where can I read the Oregon concealed handgun law
The law is available at .
19. My license has expired; do I need to take the concealed handgun license safety class again?
No. There are no penalties for letting your license expire. However, without a license, you have no authority to carry concealed. If you wish to renew your license, please call (503) 842-2561.