Justice Court has jurisdiction over tickets for the violation of Unlawful Possession of Less Than One Ounce of Marijuana.
The violation has a minimum fine of $650 and a maximum fine of $1,000. In addition, the Legislature requires that the court suspend the defendant's driving privileges for a six month period. This is a mandatory law. The suspension will occur in court upon a conviction. A copy of the order is sent to DMV to update a defendant's driver's license status with DMV.
DIVERSION. If a defendant has not been convicted of any substance abuse crimes or violations and is not now or in the past participated in a substance abuse diversion program, a defendant may choose to petition the court for a Marijuana Diversion. Diversion lasts for one year and requires the defendant to be drug free, to be evaluated by a drug evaluator, and to participate in the treatment or counseling that the evaluator may recommend.
The costs for diversion are a $333 court fee, $90 to the evaluator, and the cost of the treatment program.
A diversion petition form is available from the court. Oregon Uniform Marijuana Diversion Form
The Oregon Health Division operates the Oregon Medical Marijuana Program
This page last updated on January 03, 2012