Justice Court has jurisdiction over tickets for the violation of Possession of Less Than One Ounce of Marijuana.
The violation has a minimum fine of $650 and a maximum fine of $1,150. In addition, the Legislature requires that the court direct the Oregon DMV to suspend the defendant's driving privileges for a six month period. There is no hardship license exemption.
DIVERSION. If a defendant has not been convicted of any substance abuse crimes or violations and is not now or in the past participated in a substance abuse diversion program, a defendant may choose to petition the court for a Marijuana Diversion. Diversion lasts for one year and requires the defendant to be drug free, to be evaluated by a drug evaluator, and to participate in the treatment or counseling that the evaluator may recommend.
The costs for diversion are a $335 court fee, $90 to the evaluator, and the cost of the treatment program. The evaluator has no financial interest in programs to which referrals are made.
A diversion petition form, issued by the Oregon Supreme Court, is available on line or from the court. Marijuana Diversion Petition form
Court policies and procedures
The Oregon Health Division operates the Oregon Medical Marijuana Program
Top of Page
This page last updated on 04/30/2012