Pay Your Ticket On Line (E Payment)
2012 Traffic Fine Schedule Fine Schedule (2010)
Spanish Traffic Court, first Tuesday of each month, 4 p.m. An interpreter is available. Judge Denise Harrington presides. She is fluent in Spanish.
Justice Court handles traffic tickets in Tillamook County that are written by the Tillamook County Sheriff's Department, Oregon State Police, State Parks, State Forestry, Oregon Liquor Control Commission, other state agencies, and some tickets written by the police officers for Tillamook city and the City of Manzanita. Other local traffic courts
A traffic ticket is a violation. These are not criminal charges, and you are not entitled to a jury trial or a court appointed attorney. The officer must prove the ticket at trial by providing evidence more likely than not that the violation occurred. This standard of proof is also called a preponderance of evidence. The Oregon Evidence Code applies in trials.
Fix it tickets. Some tickets can be dismissed by the court clerk, if they are equipment or license related matters. See the Fix it ticket order.pdf. There is a $25 court cost.
You have three choices on what to do with your ticket. You can plead not guilty and have a trial. You can plead guilty or no contest. A no contest is like a guilty plea. On a guilty plea or a no contest plea, you can give the judge an explanation of what you did. The judge cannot dismiss most tickets, unless there is a trial and you are found not guilty. The state Legislature has set a minimum and a maximum fine for each type of violation. The judge cannot reduce the fine below the minimum. The bail amount on the ticket is the "base fine", which is higher than the minimum fine and lower than the maximum fine.
Court policies and procedures Notice
Top of Page
Stopping Distance Calculator
Photo by Deputy Sheriff Paul Fournier
If you are convicted of a traffic violation, the court is required to tell this information to the Oregon DMV, and the DMV will put the conviction on your driving record. If you live outside of Oregon, the Oregon DMV will send the information to your state's DMV.
At a trial, you can question the officer, you can question any other witness the State asks to testify, and you can bring your own witnesses to court. If you have a problem getting a witness to come to court, the court can give you a subpoena. You don't have to testify at the trial. Trial Procedure
If there is a fine, you can pay the fine by cash, check, debit or credit card, or a payment plan. The Legislature has established a minimum bail schedule.
If you don't appear in court, or don't contact the court, or don't pay a fine, the court will ask the DMV to suspend your driver's license, and may assign the account to a collection agency. If your license is suspended, all of the fine needs to be paid before the court will ask DMV to reinstate your license. There is a $50 court cost imposed as a late fee/license suspension fee. If the account is assigned to a collection agency, Credits, Inc. That agency will add additional fees, as allowed by state statute.
The court cannot give legal advice. You may wish to consult your own attorney. Legal Aid's phone number is 1-888-245-4091.
Attorneys scheduling trials in Justice Court must comply with the court's speedy trial policy.
DMV en Espanol DMV
Tillamook Municipal Court
Top of Page
This page last updated April 19, 2012